Paratha in La Paz

Paratha in La Paz

D 438 Day, June 3, 2017

Location: Lila house, La Paz, Bolivia, Latin America

Physical status: Fluctuating, better

Today, Lila Jessica and other volunteers of Asociacion de Amistad Bolivia-India invited me for dinner. Day started with upset stomach. I did not have breakfast or lunch. I was only on ORS/ glucose water. My health was never deteriorated during the journey. I wanted to say no to dinner to Lila but that would have been very discourteous.

In the afternoon, two volunteers have come to my hostel to pick up me. I went with them to Lila’s house which is relatively close from my hostel. When I reached her house, Lila, Stephanie Adriana and other volunteers were busy in cooking.

I was wondering, what they are going to cook and how can I respond to their food because my stomach was upset. In the beginning they put potato chips and I thought it is good option. Lila stays in high rise so most of the city is visible from her window.

20170603_182213

Dinner at Lila’s house with AABI volunteers

Lila has prepared Paratha (thick type of Indian bread), curd and chicken. Of course, chicken was for other members. I don’t eat chicken. Paratha was smooth and light spicy. I took half of it. It was delicious. Imagine someone gets Paratha in La Paz 3,600 meter above the sea level. I wanted to have some more but I controlled. After the dinner, we had fruit salad.

20170603_175740

Before the lunch, Lila’s daughter Sanjana had come from nursery school. After ten minutes, we became friends. She was very happy with me. She requested me, if I could stay with her for some longer time. I promised, may be next time, which I don’t know when.

IMG-20170603-WA0014

Leave a Reply

